fba 3.0 is here! try it now for all devices: help us get the new site ready for primetime!

Tell a friend about this talk!

Share to Facebook Share to Twitter

other talks in this theme

Other talks from Glasgow

Great Stages of the Spiritual Path

by Padmavajra (2010)

Padmavajra begins by reflecting on the incident early after the Buddha's Enlightenment when he looks for someone or something to revere. The Buddha resolves to revere the Dharma. Padmavajra describes the experience of reverence and speaks of it as a human need.

He lists the six garavas or things to be revered, and goes on to speak in more length about the 4th of these, spiritual training, siksa.

He then looks at the Great Stages of the Spiritual Path, which Sangharakshita outlines in a seminar on The Precious Garland by Nagarjuna. This teaching is based on the Five Margas and these reflections are what are eventually developed into the System of Meditation or System of Practice.

These five stages are Integration, Positive Emotion, Vision or Spiritual Death, Transformation or Spiritual Rebirth and Spontaneous Compassionate Activity.